Batik

Standard

batik |bəˈtēk| — a method of producing colored designs on textiles by dyeing them, having first applied wax to the parts to be left undyed.

While traveling to Tanzania, Zambia, and Zanzibar I fell in love this vibrant textile design method. I remember spending my afternoons walking through markets and discovering the most hidden shops in search of finding my favorite pattern. In many of these countries woman create batik businesses as a way to provide a livelihood for their families. These artisan work with minimal resources and materials but are able to create such beautiful pieces! They are not to go un-noticed, check out their creations!

Batik Print Pillows

Created by Aklala

I wish I could wear something like this, she is owning this dress!

Aklala

The perfect floor pillow!

I love this robe!

Amazing! and check out those earrings!

Leave a Reply

