The industrial side of things.

Standard

I have found myself becoming more and more drawn to antique industrial furnishings lately. What I like about this style is the combination of natural elements, such as refurbished wood and recycled leather, with an industrial accent such as brass a handle, or big metal wheels. These accents are so masculine, like you can literally visualize a strong burly man building each piece in his shed out back working into the wee hours of the morning. Am I more intrigued by the piece of furniture or my idea of the man that built it? Ha, probably both…

I am always curious as to what the original purpose of each piece was. Was it a gift for someone special, a creation resulting from a woodworking hobby, or something used in a barn to store tools?  I guess that’s part of the mystery and why there is so much character in each structure.

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

 Sources: A,  B,  C,  D ,  E,  F,  G,  H,  I

Leave a Reply

