#lyproject

Standard

Last night I participated in an event for Leap Year Project.  Their mission is simple. “Everyone has had ideas, dreams, and thoughts about creating change in their lives or around the world (yep…even you). Though it seems like there is too much going wrong and too little time, 2012 is a Leap Year and we are inviting you to take a risk to change your life, your community or your world for the better.” They had this amazing space to use in a coop downtown, right off the Chicago stop. The room had this creative energy to it that led everyone in conversation about what inspires you and what are you passionate about and how are you going to get to where you want to be. Great conversation, people, and atmosphere. Overall, I would say the event was a success!

A few weeks back I met with my friend Andrea who asked if I would help with some of the decorations for the #lyproject event. I love projects and I love to decorate, so that was an easy answer.  We partnered with Green Light New Orleans, who installs free energy efficient light bulbs in households to create a sustainable community. They sent us over 100 lightbulbs to use for an installation I was to create. Our theme was ‘It all startes with an idea’, hence the lightbulbs:) I have never built an installation in any fashion, so this was going to be a first.  And did I mention that the light bulbs were not getting delivered til Monday and the event was Wednesday!  I was so excited when the bulbs came because they were all different shapes and sizes and the majority were Edison bulbs, so cool!  Here are some pics of the final product! I plan to hang them over a dining room table, once I actually or make one:)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

